Bruton Primary School

Part of the East Somerset Federation which includes Upton Noble C of E VC Primary


Welcome to our Governors’ section. Please find below details of how the Governing body for the East Somerset Federation (Bruton and Upton Noble primary schools) is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor. 



Meet the East Somerset Federation Governors 

Currently there are 13 members of the Governing Body, representing the Local Authority, local community, parents and staff. We are all volunteers, and we all have the same aims and ambitions for the schools. We are interested in children, their education and their development.  The Full Governing Body meets 6 times a year, with sub-committees in and Business & Finance and Pay & Head Teacher's Performance meeting 3 times a year each.


We recognise that there are three important core roles to our contribution at both Bruton Primary School and Upton Noble Church of England Primary School.


  • The first is strategic. It is our responsibility to agree policies and to monitor their impact.
  • The second is to be a ‘critical friend’. It is important that we ask relevant but probing questions. We examine the performance of the children in the school, and we give praise where it is good and seek ways of making improvements when expectations are not achieved.
  • Thirdly, we must ensure accountability. For instance, if we delegate a task to a committee or working party, the terms of reference for the group must be clearly set. We must evaluate ourselves and the actions we take.


Introducing the members of the Governing Body (2019/20 school year):



Susan Simpson (Co-Chair)

Having spent over 10 years in Further Education in both teaching and management roles, and as an employer for 25 years, I have seen first-hand what can happen to a person's life when they miss out on a great primary education.  I am, therefore, totally committed to ensuring that our children do not suffer that fate. 

I have a degree in Accounting & Economics, a wide experience of successfully dealing with Ofsted and other inspection bodies along with County Councils, funding bodies, auditors and banks. 

I help my partner run a local, longstanding family business and currently have 2 children in school.


Norman Hutchinson (Co-Chair)

I am now retired after a 34-year career as a Royal Air Force Officer followed by 11 years as an Overseas Business Development Manager with BAE Systems. I moved to the area near Upton Noble in early 2017 and hope to use my past knowledge and experience to support the local communities through the role of Governor in the East Somerset Federation.


Rachael Bisset

Executive Headteacher of the East Somerset Federation from 1 September 2019


Chris Collier

Chris works at Bath Spa University where he is a lecturer in the School of Education. He is involved in teaching across the undergraduate Education Studies course and the postgraduate initial teacher education programme. Before joining the University, he taught in a primary school on the Isle of Wight and prior to that he worked as an environmental geologist. He became a governor for the East Somerset Federation when it was formed in 2013 and is a member of the Federation’s Education Committee. He hopes his experience of education, both policy and practice, is of value to the Federation.


Victoria Christophers

I had one child at Upton Noble Primary School and began my role of Governor in September 2018.


Jemima Newman

I became a parent governor in 2016 and I put myself forward having two children at Bruton Primary School and wanting to contribute to, and support the running of the schools.  I grew up in Bruton and attended Bruton Primary School myself (many years ago) and it still has the same great feel about it now.  

Before children, I was an HR Manager and I feel this experience will be beneficial in fulfilling my role  in helping the children achieve the best school experience possible and start to their education.  I am now the staff governor and have responsibility for progress and attainment in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  


Karen Cook

Karen has a very busy family life, she has three daughters, all three attended Upton Noble Primary School.  Karen lives in South Brewham and for over 10 years has played an active roll on the Village Hall Committee. Her kind and friendly attitude and experiences as a mother have all helped to organise many fantastic events in Brewham.

Working in Bruton, Karen loves meeting people and as a Governor looks forward to both schools in the federation work together in making them great places of learning for all the children of the community.


Will Tuke

Governor since April 2020.


Emma-Louise James

Emma-Louise is the Head of Schools and was co-opted to the Governing Body in June 2020. She brings a wealth of knowledge to the Governing Body.


Brian Lippitt

Appointed LA Governor in July 2020.



Liz Hall-Say (Clerk)

Clerk to the Governing Body of the East Somerset Federation.  As first point of contact for the governors, please get in touch at  


No. Name Category Term of Office Responsibilities
1 VACANCY Co-opted    
2 Karen Cook Co-opted 23/9/13 - 22/4/21

Business & Finance Committee

Health & Safety

3 Rachael Bisset Exec Head  01/09/19

Business & Finance Committee

Pay & Appraisal Committee

4 Christopher Collier Partnership 15/4/13 - 14/4/21 English
5 Emma-Louise James Co-opted 22/06/20 - 21/06/24 Sports Grant
6 Jemima Newman Staff 16/11/18 - 15/11/22 Early Years (EYFS)
7 Will Tuke Co-opted 17/04/20 - 16/04/24

Business & Finance Committee


8 VACANCY Parent    




10 Victoria Christophers Foundation DBE 18/02/19 - 17/02/23

Pay & Appraisal Committee

Safeguarding, inc. e-safety & safer recruitment

Christian character & ethos

11 VACANCY Parent    
12 Norman Hutchinson Co-opted 12/11/18 - 11/11/22

Co-Chair, Business & Finance Committee

Wider curriculum: sport, art, forest school, languages, humanities, science

13 VACANCY Foundation, ex-officio    
14 Susan Simpson Co-opted 11/02/19-10/02/23

Co-Chair, Business & Finance Committee

Pay & Appraisal Committee

Wider curriculum: PSHE, RE, Christian character & ethos, e-safety

15 Brian Lippitt

Local Authority

14/07/20 - 13/07/24

Pay & Appraisal Committee

Pupil Premium

Pupil Wellbeing

  Chris Partridge Parent until 08/02/21  
  Sue Deyes Foundation, ex officio until 26/11/20  
  Tanya Sherriff-Prest Parent until 05/03/20  
  Theresa Preston Co-opted until 09/03/20  
  Melanie Bowes Lyon Co-opted until 17/07/20  
  Mary La Trobe Bateman Co-opted until 17/07/20  
  Jonathan Black Partnership until 20/09/20